Welcome to the website of architect and theoretician Andreas Rumpfhuber. Expanded Design programmatically stands for an architectural practice that is not content with the design of beautiful places. Expanded Design is a research-led practice of architecture that aims to develop spaces for coexistence. The focus lies on the preoccupation with spaces for work and spaces for living.



Architecture

Architecture

front_arch05_hellbeschnitten.jpg

During the design process we draw on theoretical and historical knowledge, reveal the knowledge both explicit and implicit in organisations, and develop artistically researched solutions that can withstand the challenges that work and living pose to contemporary architecture.

During the design process we draw on theoretical and historical knowledge, reveal the knowledge both explicit and implicit in organisations, and develop artistically researched solutions that can withstand the challenges that work and living pose to contemporary architecture.


Research

Research

research_neu.jpg

We explore, analyse and experiment; we visualize the latent questions of a project; we challenge established ideas and generate new ones in the process. Andreas Rumpfhuber was and is involved in a series of international research projects, both initiating and leading them. They are the scientific basis for the architectural projects of Expanded Design.

We explore, analyse and experiment; we visualize the latent questions of a project; we challenge established ideas and generate new ones in the process. Andreas Rumpfhuber was and is involved in a series of international research projects, both initiating and leading them. They are the scientific basis for the architectural projects of Expanded Design.


Initiatives

Initiatives

front_initiativen_neu.jpg

Architecture is a part of the social discourse. It mirrors the discourse and affirms it. In the best case, architecture is not just representation: it is also intervention, and thereby it changes our reality. The initiatives of Expanded Design raise questions, and intervene.

Architecture is a part of the social discourse. It mirrors the discourse and affirms it. In the best case, architecture is not just representation: it is also intervention, and thereby it changes our reality. The initiatives of Expanded Design raise questions, and intervene.


Writings

Writings

front_writing_neu.jpg

The texts, books and lectures of Andreas Rumpfhuber are critical and theoretical reflections upon the focal themes of work and living. This literature is part of a specific practice that intervenes in the social discourse, communicating and imparting knowledge at the same time. [...]

The texts, books and lectures of Andreas Rumpfhuber are critical and theoretical reflections upon the focal themes of work and living. This literature is part of a specific practice that intervenes in the social discourse, communicating and imparting knowledge at the same time. [...]

Willkommen auf der Webseite des Architekten und Architekturtheoretikers Andreas Rumpfhuber. Expanded Design steht programmatisch für eine Architekturpraxis, die sich nicht mit der Gestaltung schöner Räume zufrieden gibt, sondern forschend Fragestellungen entwickelt, die Möglichkeitsräume für unser Zusammenleben eröffnen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei in der Beschäftigung mit Räumen des Arbeitens und des Wohnens.



Architektur

Architektur

front_arch05_hellbeschnitten.jpg

Im Entwurfsprozess greifen wir auf theoretische und historische Erkenntnisse zurück, legen das implizite und explizite Wissen von Organisationen offen und entwickeln künstlerisch forschend Lösungen, die den Anforderungen an zeitgenössische Architekturen des Wohnens und Arbeitens produktiv standhalten. […]

Im Entwurfsprozess greifen wir auf theoretische und historische Erkenntnisse zurück, legen das implizite und explizite Wissen von Organisationen offen und entwickeln künstlerisch forschend Lösungen, die den Anforderungen an zeitgenössische Architekturen des Wohnens und Arbeitens produktiv standhalten. […]


Forschung

Forschung

front_research_traum_www.jpg

Wir forschen, analysieren und experimentieren, machen die latenten Fragestellungen eines Projektes sichtbar, fordern bestehende Ideen heraus und generieren dabei neue. Andreas Rumpfhuber war und ist in eine Reihe von nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten involviert, hat diese initiiert und geleitet. Sie sind die Wissensbasis für die Architekturprojekte von Expanded Design. […]

Wir forschen, analysieren und experimentieren, machen die latenten Fragestellungen eines Projektes sichtbar, fordern bestehende Ideen heraus und generieren dabei neue. Andreas Rumpfhuber war und ist in eine Reihe von nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten involviert, hat diese initiiert und geleitet. Sie sind die Wissensbasis für die Architekturprojekte von Expanded Design. […]


Initiativen

Initiativen

front_initiativen_neu.jpg

Architektur ist Teil gesellschaftlicher Diskurse. Architektur spiegelt diese Diskurse. Und sie affirmiert sie. Im besten Fall ist Architektur jedoch nicht nur Repräsentation, sondern auch Intervention. Architektur verändert so unser aller Realität. Die Initiativen von Expanded Design tragen bei, greifen ein, stellen in Frage. [...]

Architektur ist Teil gesellschaftlicher Diskurse. Architektur spiegelt diese Diskurse. Und sie affirmiert sie. Im besten Fall ist Architektur jedoch nicht nur Repräsentation, sondern auch Intervention. Architektur verändert so unser aller Realität. Die Initiativen von Expanded Design tragen bei, greifen ein, stellen in Frage. [...]


Texte

Texte

front_writing_neu.jpg

Die Texte, Bücher und Vorträge von Andreas Rumpfhuber reflektieren kritisch und theoretisch die Schwerpunkte Wohnen und Arbeiten. Das Schreiben ist dabei Teil einer spezifischen Praxis, die in gesellschaftliche Diskurse eingreift und gleichzeitig Wissen kommuniziert und vermittelt. [...]

Die Texte, Bücher und Vorträge von Andreas Rumpfhuber reflektieren kritisch und theoretisch die Schwerpunkte Wohnen und Arbeiten. Das Schreiben ist dabei Teil einer spezifischen Praxis, die in gesellschaftliche Diskurse eingreift und gleichzeitig Wissen kommuniziert und vermittelt. [...]